A Message For My Boys

Everyday I wake up I thank God for the most precious gifts a mother could ask for

You

IMG_0231

As I watch you two grow older day by day, I ask myself “What things do I need my sons to know?” “If I were leaving this earth tomorrow, what are the messages I would want to be left behind for my boys?

1. Always Stick Together!

There will be times when you drive each other nuts, There will be times when you’re not speaking. Just always remember that you’re MY sons and my wish is for you to always be there for one another no matter what, because no one else will have your back like your family.

2. Be Yourself

I know it may seem easier to blend in with everyone else just so you can fit in, but you should never have to change your personality for anyone. There is only one you, no one else will ever be the same so don’t be afraid to be you!

3. Know How To Recognize The Truth

Throughout your lifetime the world will feed you a bunch of lies about money, strength, self-worth, relationships.

Don’t believe them!

Always seek God for the truth, he will always lead you in the right direction.

4. Be a Leader, Not a Follower

People will want you to be like them. They will sometimes say and do mean things to try to take away your confidence.

Don’t let them!

Be who God created you to be, not who someone else wants you to be.

5. You Will Make Mistakes

No one is perfect. Yes, sometimes you will screw up, but just pick yourself up, wipe the dirt off your shoulder, and get back into the game! How you deal with those “screw ups” will show your character!

6. Be Respectful To Females

You will run across all types of women. Always treat them with respect! Never do anything to them that you wouldn’t want seen done to your mother.

7.  Look Out For The Weak

God made you strong for a reason. Never let that strength hurt someone else. Be a protector to those weaker than you. Stand up to the bully.

8. Allow Me to Introduce the Following

  • Mop
  • Broom
  • Oven
  • Stove
  • Dishwasher
  • Washing Machine & Dryer
  • Iron

9. Don’t ever be a Bully

Don’t ever be a bully and don’t ever start a fight, But if someone clocks you please defend yourself!

10. Take Pride In Your Appearance

First impressions still mean a lot so please remember to take pride in your appearance. Practice daily healthy hygiene, Dress well, and keep your hair maintained. Don’t be one of those dudes! (Son’s, if you’re reading this you already know exactly what I mean)

11. Always remember You Are Loved!

No matter what happens in the near future one thing you both will never have to question is me and your fathers love for you. You both are gifts from God and every decision that we have made since we became parents have been for your benefit, to give you the best childhood possible.

12. Don’t Forget About Your Mother!

No matter what age you are or what you are going through please don’t forget about me! I  know too many mothers whose sons don’t call, text, or even visit them for big stretches of time! Please don’t do that to me! It would break my heart. Call me often, Visit on holidays, Buy me flowers on Mother’s Day. It’s the little things that count  in motherhood that makes us feel like we did a great job in raising our little boys into grown men.

IMG_0435_2

